5 Things I Love About This Place: Oregon

29 May

At this point in the break, we are beginning to immerse ourselves into our summer plans, whether they involve prepping for summer courses, becoming one with our living room couch while binge-watching Netflix, or even leaving Tucson to visit loved ones. Personally, I finally have the pleasure of kicking off my shoes in my own house, which happens to be located in a small town called Corvallis in the state of Oregon! Yes, that is right. Though I do reside in Tucson, Arizona, the place where I can truly hang my hat is in this wonderful state. And I just wanted to take the time to list some of the things I most admire about Oregon, both as a home and a vacation spot 🙂

1) The Weather

Though I live in Arizona, I am a HUGE fan of rainy, overcast weather. I love the smell, I love the chilliness, and I love the sound of rain. I was born in Anchorage, Alaska so I would like to think that’s partly why I favor this kind of weather.

foggy

rainy weather

beach

2) The Scenery

I try to take my dog, Scout, on walks as often as I can when I’m visiting my mom’s house. Just down the road, there’s a covered bridge that we get to walk through each time. Corvallis is on the small side, so there are more trees and grass than buildings and pavement. Plus, my lungs can’t get enough of this crisp cool air 🙂

covered bridge

ocean and tree

On a drive throughout Portland, we decided to pull the car over.

3) The Places

In Portland, we happened to stumble upon this really cool coffee shop. Unfortunately, I can’t remember the name so I am unable to send out a solid recommendation to you all, but I promise that if you ever get a chance to visit Portland you’ll come across a few gems yourself 🙂

coffee place

coffee 24) The Food

Seafood! Seafood! Seafood! The best seafood that I have EVER had is in Oregon. Mo’s is only located in 6 cities on the coast throughout the state, the two photos that I have included below are of the two restaurants in Newport. Mo’s is famous for its clam chowder, which I love getting in a bowl made out of sourdough bread. I would recommend the shrimp skewers, fish tacos, and one of their delicious hamburgers (not seafood, but they’re really good!).

mo-s-clam-chowder

MosAnnexRestaurant_360_360_905) My Family

I live in Tucson, my mother lives in Oregon, and my brother Cole is currently serving in the Air Force in California. So when we get the chance to all come together, it makes me very, very happy. We’ll usually drive to the coast, walk around Newport or Seaside, and explore Corvallis.

cole and I

My brother Cole and I

jenny and mom

A family friend (Jennifer), my mother, and I.

I invite all of you to share your “5 Things” that you LOVE about the place you’re currently visiting or planning on visiting this summer in the comments below 🙂

Best,

Casey

Leave a Reply

