What A Beautiful Time To Reinvent Myself!

1 Jul

Over the past month, I haven’t been feeling quite like myself and can’t figure out why. Perhaps it’s because I didn’t finish the spring semester as strongly as I had hoped, or perhaps it’s because I’ve never struggled with money this badly in my entire life. I suppose it could be an array of reasons, all related to my health, my family, and friends. All common issues I’m sure most of us college students have experienced. Well, this unhappiness has been staring at me in the face for quite some time now, and I’ve decided that I’m going to take action! Whether it be a short-term or a long-term process, I want it to happen! Here are a few ways that I have come up with so far…

Mulan-Climbing-Make-a-Man-Of-You-2

1) Changing something about my appearance. Now I’m not talking about doing anything drastic, especially anything that my own mother wouldn’t be cool with. I’m talking HAIR! The idea of dyeing my hair always seemed to be tempting, but it wasn’t until recently that I started seriously considering it. A lovely friend of mine is planning on dyeing her dark brown hair platinum blonde, and though we can tell she’s a bit nervous, we can still see the excitement in her eyes when she talks about it. Getting a new hair cut is also a great idea, it’s less expensive and it will always grow back!

48f4c2045f13a19ea1d99454a03ea6f9

What she plans on doing…

526450e73dbada869b6aa15e3e4291c8

What I plan on doing…

2) Getting in shape. I’ve probably mentioned this in my previous blogs but my current circumstances are really putting the pressure on taking better care of my body both physically and mentally (which is my main concern at the moment). I’ve been told that exercising on a regular basis helps with depression, something that I have experienced before and potentially now (I’m not quite sure yet!). Nonetheless, so many other benefits come from getting up and moving around and adopting a healthy diet. I figure I better do it now before school starts while I still have a lot of free time. And see if a friend or your significant other would be willing to make this lifestyle change with you. It’s much more fun that way 🙂

giphy
tumblr_m03bfkxulA1qm98smo1_1280large

3) Relax. What is considered to be relaxing honestly depends on the person, so I’ll just share what I personally find relaxing (or at least plan on doing to make myself feel more relaxed). Normally I’m one to plop into bed and watch Netflix for hours upon hours and calling it a day (which is in no way a bad thing!) but this summer I would like to try winding down in another way. For a short time in my P.E. class in high school, we practiced yoga and Pilates and I actually really enjoyed it! So I plan on taking up both.

  • Yoga can benefit your cardiovascular system (improves circulation and lowers blood pressure) your digestive system (helps surrounding muscles speed up a sluggish digestion) and your nervous system (eases muscular tension and can reduce stress and anxiety).

tumblr_mzf2bseDNO1tq2fdqo1_400

Tumblr-Yoga-4tumblr_mubbgrZgZF1ro3593o1_400

  • Now this one spills more over into the exercising category, but it can still be relaxing! Pilates can strengthen core muscles, improve flexibility, enhance muscular control, and even improve your concentration and help with stress management.

Pilates-2-Frog-Circlepilates-exercises-equipments

If you’re like me and feel like you’re in a bit of a slump, I invite you to join me in starting a new beginning!

Best,

Casey

Leave a Reply

