Uncommon Places on Campus

23 Jul

Getting used to the UA campus and college life in general can take some time. With a student population of over 42,000 students, campus can feel quite intimidating. It’s natural and comforting for many of us to find our niches and familiarize ourselves with common areas around the university. As a freshman, I quickly learned which buildings I would dread the most, but I also stumbled upon some uncommon places to study or have a class in.

Harvill

On the second day of school, I attended a class in the Harvill building, but before I entered it I already felt dreaded. I disliked Harvill because at the time there was major construction on 2nd Street for the new streetcar. Depending on the day one would either have the ability to cross the street with ease, or would be stuck taking a major sidewalk detour to cross the street. After my first experience with Harvill, I avoided taking any classes in the building, however; this past year I finally attended some classes there. It felt silly that I disliking Harvill simply because of the construction, which mainly deterred me from taking any classes there. Now, that the construction of the streetcar is done Harvill is easier to access plus the large lecture hall in the building is less intimidating in comparison Centennial hall.

Centennial Hall

As an underclassman, I had many classes that were taught in large lecture halls like the one in Harvill, the Social Science building, but the one I dreaded the most was Centennial Hall. The hall itself is mainly used as a performance stage for a variety of other fine art displays. When I arrived early to my first class, MIS 111, there were already 50 students waiting outside in the lobby to enter the hall and another thirty outside the building waiting as well. Once we entered the room, everyone scrambled to find a seat and I remember my professor clearly stating, “No now is allowed to sit behind row ‘M’. We don’t need the entire hall to seat 500 students for this class.” After hearing this and taking a moment to look at the hall I truly felt like I was in a see of faces. Though I felt dismayed, I began to attend office hours, which helped my professor recognized me in class. While, the group projects in this class made it easier to focus my attention on one area of the hall.

Babcock

It is very common for students to be familiar with buildings like Harvill or Centennial, but there are a few uncommon places on campus. The first of these is Babcock, simply because there is a Babcock Building and a Babcock Dormitory, which are next to one another. When I first arrived to the area I was confused as to why there were dorm rooms on one side and offices on the other side. With the help of a staff member, I was able to find my classroom and my instructor understood my tardiness since many of the other students also found it difficult to find the room. To this day the building still remains a mystery to me and most students would actually find this an uncommon building. However, this is building is common for students who are taking a critical language such as Hindi, Korean, or any other language that is not housed under college of humanities.

shantz buildingThe last uncommon place I stumbled upon my freshman year was the Shantz building, which is located next to the bike path across the Marley building. The building in general houses the Nutritional Science major under the College of Agricultural Life Sciences. This building is rather uncommon because it has three levels, but the first floor is only used for classrooms and the other two have restricted access to students. Like Babcock there are two sides to this building and it is a little confusing as to which side has the classrooms. The building sign is hard to spot and if you aren’t paying attention you can walk right past it without knowing it. Despite it being an uncommon place on campus, I liked having my math class here because on the second and third floor there was a bench that was always under the shade so it was perfect for me to get some air before class and finish any homework I had left to do.

-Lupita

Leave a Reply

