A Not-So-Fresh Freshman Year

30 Jul

We all know that the transition from high school to college can be absolutely terrifying, yet exciting at the same time. Once you step into your first lecture, you begin the journey of adjusting to the new expectations and opportunities that come along with being a college student. However what many freshmen struggle with is replacing their high school academic attitude with a college one. By this I mean that professors will expect much more out of you than your high school teachers did, which means more responsibilities for you. I unfortunately learned this the hard way.

During my senior year in high school, I participated in a program that required me to be enrolled in community college courses while also taking courses in high school. I had no problem with community college, and I’m not saying that community college classes aren’t  challenging, but merely because I only had to take 2 at a time. I’ll be honest, I procrastinated a lot and pulled off huge assignments at the last minute and miraculously earned a 4.0. In turn, I assumed I could get away with practicing the same methods at a university. And I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Long story short, I didn’t dohas best as I could have during my first 2 semesters in college. I took sticking to the syllabus lightly, and decided to be a good college student way too late into the semester. But even though I wish I could go back in time and scold freshman Casey, I still consider it a learning experience. It’s okay to make mistakes at this point in our lives, as long as we acknowledge what went wrong and what not to do in the future, we’re going to be okay!

Don’t get me wrong, there were many other positive aspects to my freshman year. I went to New Start and had the time of my life getting to know the campus and meeting a bunch of wonderful people (including my boyfriend). I loved experiencing life in the residence hall and I had a fantastic roommate. And even though I wasn’t a model student, I still had a great time taking the classes that I did. Some of your best memories will come from your first year here at the University of Arizona, I guarantee it. 🙂

Best,

Casey

Leave a Reply

