#StudiousSeptember: Let’s Bake Some Cookies!

29 Sep

Studious September is always a breeze when you’re a U of A student. This month I decided to step out of my comfort zone and tried, emphasis on the key word “tried”, to learn how to make chocolate chip cookies from scratch. I know you all may be thinking, “really, chocolate chip cookies?” But if you knew how horrible my relationship is with my apartment’s kitchen then you’d understand.

It all started nice and early on a Monday morning. I had a bit of free time so I thought I could prepare the cookie dough and bake the cookies before I started my day of classes and work. Of course I had to Google how to make chocolate chip cookies from scratch (for dummies) until I found the online article that I felt was a best fit for my “amazing” cooking skills. Let’s just say that I ended up covering my whole kitchen with flour, sugar, and all the other ingredients that I may or may not have needed. I placed the cookies on a cookie sheet and put them into my preheated oven…

Looks like I was off to an amazing start thus far right? Think again.

As the cookies were in the oven I figured I had enough time to take a nice shower and get prepared for the day. After jammin’ out in the shower to Pandora for a while, I began to smell something burning. First thing that popped into my mind was, “Who’s cooking this early?” Then it came to my attention that I was. I quickly turned off the shower and tried to take the dark charcoal colored cookies out of the oven, but as I was too late. My smoke detector caught a whiff of the smoke and set the smoke alarms off, waking my roommates.

I guess we can say that studious September has taught me not only that cookies will burn if left in the oven for too long or that your roommates will probably hate you if you cause the smoke detector to go off at 6 am (both true), but also that time management is a critical skill that is a necessity for everyday life.

-Darius Amos

Leave a Reply

