#StudiousSeptember: Learning to Make Kandi Bracelets

29 Sep

2012 was a year of firsts. My first semester at the U of A, my first time living away from home, and my first EDM concert. My roommate made a big deal about going to the Tiesto concert. I had no idea what or who that was, all I knew was that the “cool” people were talking about it, and I desperately wanted to be cool. When the moment finally arrived, I stood four rows away from the barricade pressed shoulder to shoulder against people I had never seen in my life. It was mesmerizing. There is something very cathartic about moving as one with hundreds of people to the bass of the music.

I turn to my right to see these two girls with scores of bracelets covering their arms engaged in a strange ritual. I squinted to focus my eyes on them, and they made three symbols with their hands, interlocked their fingers and traded a bracelet. It was fascinating to watch. When they finished, I leaned closer to one of the girls and asked her what the ritual was. She explained that people that go to a lot of EDM concerts make bracelets to share with different people they meet, collecting other concert-goers’ bracelets along the way. She then took my hand to show me the way. We pressed our index and middle finger to each other in the peace sign, created a heart between our hands for love, and interlocked our fingers for unity. She then shared with me my first Kandi bracelet. Since then, I have gone to numerous EDM concerts and have seen artists like ZEDD, Steve Aoki, and Zeds Dead to name a few, but I have not traded any more Kandi bracelets. This Studious September, I chose to learn how to make my own Kandi to trade.

My lovely roommate Kayla agreed to take me under her wing and teach me how to make Kandi. The necessary supplies were easy enough to obtain. All I needed was a bead set, string, and my laptop. Kayla showed me one of her favorite website with all the patterns I could ever want to make. I tried to pick a simple pattern that wouldn’t give me too much trouble.

WIN_20150928_21_59_07_Pro

The first row is always the most difficult, thankfully Kayla was there to start it off for me. Here is what it looked like:

WIN_20150928_22_29_10_Pro

From here, the pattern was easy enough to follow, and Kayla checked my progress and was there to help every step of the way. This is what it looked like half way through the process.

WIN_20150928_23_22_58_Pro

It wasn’t too difficult to follow the pattern, but I was confused a lot of the time. The Kandi is a bit wonky in one area, but Kayla says that it happens to everyone their first time, so I don’t feel so bad. I am proud of my Kandi, and it will be traveling with me to my next EDM concert.

WIN_20150929_00_01_55_Pro-Erika

Leave a Reply

