#StudiousSeptember: Releasing My Inner Dancer

30 Sep

Dancing has always been a passion of mine but, since I have self-esteem issues I’ve never really pursued/developed this talent. I enjoy dancing because it helps me take the edge off and I’m able to express myself. 

After not dancing for almost three years now, a co-worker of mine was somehow able to convince me to audition for a dance crew. However, I didn’t know what to expect and ended up being completely unprepared. I thought this audition would be about an hour long at the least…BOY was I wrong. I woke up a bit late, so I didn’t have time to eat breakfast. That was my first error. I forgot to get a water bottle, error number two. I decided to wear running shoes to the audition, error number three. Not to mention it took the 62 people who showed up almost three hours to learn the dance. And after that, we still had to audition in smaller groups in front of the judges.

The whole process ran from 1-5pm! By that time I didn’t even care if I made it on the team or not I just wanted to go home to eat and rest. I had blisters on my feet, felt exhausted, and I couldn’t stop thinking about food. 

It comes as no surprise that I did not make the cut. But, it was quite a learning experience. I learned to never wear running shoes to a dance audition, always pack a lunch and water bottle, and to make the best out of every situation. I also learned that I am too hard on myself and I should really be more confident. 

Special thanks and props to Bri for convincing me to get out of bed at 12 pm on a Sunday.

-Becky

Leave a Reply

