#StudiousSeptember: Spicin’ It Up in the Kitchen

30 Sep

This month for #StudiousSeptember, I decided to try out a new recipe since cooking is one of my favorite hobbies! I got into cooking because it relaxes me, and it allows me to recreate my favorite recipes with a healthy spin! A couple months ago, my sister told me about how she made ground turkey meatballs at home for her friends. After hearing about her recipe, I realized how easy it would be to recreate! Last Friday after my four essays and midterms, I seriously needed to unwind! I went to the grocery store and got parsley, lean ground turkey, whole grain pasta, vodka pasta sauce, garlic, and bell peppers!

IMG_1057

Prepping the meal by chopping up parsley, bell peppers, and garlic!

IMG_1059

The meatballs once they came out of the oven! I flavored the turkey meat balls with basil, oregano, crushed pepper, salt, garlic powder, pepper, and parsley.

IMG_1060

Here it is! The finished product with whole grain noodles, garlic, sautéed bell peppers, and vodka pasta sauce!

I was really happy about how the dish turned out in the end! The pasta was really filling but healthy and nutritious at the same time, which was the best part. I had so many leftovers that I was able to feed all my roommates! There’s nothing more satisfying than making a meal that turns out well, and being able to share it with your friends! I definitely needed this relaxing and delicious break after a stressful week! I can’t wait til this weekend when I try another new recipe – I’m thinking some type of chili this week!

What are some of your favorite ways to unwind after a long week?

-Erica S.

Leave a Reply

