#OutrageousOctober: Facing Your Fears

15 Oct

In my mind, there are two types of people who watch scary movies: those who enjoy them and those who are challenged to watch them. I don’t know about everyone else, but I cannot stand watching scary movies. Why should I suffer through almost having a heart attack every 6 seconds just to wake up six times during the night from nightmares? Can you guess which boat I was in? That’s right, for my blog this month, I decided to face a fear of mine and watch the movie Se7en starring Brad Pitt (which is a scary thing all in its own right).

IMG_20151014_230141_105

Now, to face this challenge properly I had to make sure certain aesthetics were in place.

  • It had to be dark. To attain full scariness, a movie must be watched at night. I made sure to watch this well past the sun set.
  • There had to be plenty of snacks that I would scatter around the room every time I got scared.

This was more for me than for any real reason, I have always had the dream of jumping and having popcorn scatter around the room. Unfortunately this did not happen.

popcorn 1IMG_20151014_230115_871

  • I had to watch it with another person who had seen it.

This has to be done for many reasons, mostly because they add to the fearful feelings in the room thus making the experience seem way scarier than it actually is. Luckily my friend Erika was happy to be recruited for this endeavor.

IMG_20151014_230333_547

Overall the movie was not too bad. It was much more of a psychological thriller, but I still had nightmares. I am happy that I watched it because it means I faced my fear, but I would not say my fear of scary movies has been squashed, just lessened a little.

Go out there and face your fears everyone!

clown-movies

-Chrissy

Leave a Reply

