Becoming Rocky Balboa #OutrageousOctober

26 Oct

As a film student, I find it incredibly difficult when someone asks me what my favorite film is. There are so many great stories that have been shared through the form of film over the years that I find it almost impossible to choose just one. But over the years, I have formed my own answer that goes outside the rules. I say: “I don’t have a favorite film, but rather my top 3”. These films are: Back to the Future, E.T and Rocky.

rocky

I grew up watching the Rocky films back-to-back as my parents were both huge fans. Those films became a part of who I am. The score is iconic and so is Rocky’s line: “It’s not how hard you can hit, but how hard you can get hit and still stand up.” This October, I decided I would find a way to take care of my health, using one of my favorite films as an inspiration. I decided to sign up for boxing classes.

boxing3

Now, most people would describe me as a gentle and non-violent person, which I am, but sometimes I just want to feel hardcore, and what better way to do that than to learn an intense sport that requires extreme physical fitness (note the fear in my tone)? But when I got there, everyone was super welcoming and right away I knew I was going to like it. First step was to purchase the bandages for my hands so they would be injured when using the gloves. That part of the night really made me feel tough. I didn’t even have the gloves on yet and I already felt like I could get in the ring.

boxing1

The workout was intense and required a lot of core strength, which doesn’t really exist for me. But it was a challenge that pushed me and encouraged me to do better. I went in as a guest, just to see what a boxing class would be like, and walked out with a membership. I have a chaotic daily schedule between classes, work and art projects but I felt that this would be a good outlet for me to not only release some stress but feel empowered as well.

boxing2

I can’t wait to go back and see how I improve over time. I want to be able to feel good about my body and health, and this October I found a way in which I can achieve that. I guess you can say that I have the Eye of the Tiger.

-Zuri

Leave a Reply

