#OutrageousOctober: Shadowing an Open Heart Surgery

27 Oct

This month for #OutrageousOctober, I did two outrageous things! The first outrageous thing was shadowing an open-heart surgery at the Banner University Medical Center right across the street. The second outrageous thing was that I shadowed the surgery from 6am to 12pm, standing in the same exact spot for over 2 hours (Ouch)!

Waking up that morning at 4am that morning wasn’t difficult because I was so excited to apply the knowledge I had learned in class to real life clinical situations. After I got dressed and headed over to the hospital, I met the cardiothoracic anesthesiologist, Dr. Ford around 5:30am. I listened to Dr. Ford going over the surgery with a couple surgeons and medical students. The patient was a 65 year old man who had many heart problems, such as a regurgitant and stenotic valve. This means that the blood vessels in his heart are stiff and leaky.

Around 5:45am, I got to meet the patient and his family before surgery. As I watched Dr. Ford and the other physicians reassure the patient and his family, my passion for the medical field was reaffirmed.

At 6am sharp, the surgery began. It was surreal being so close to the procedure, and being able to see every incision that the surgeons made, along with every valve and structure of the heart.

I would highly recommend all of you to get out there and experience your future professions firsthand! Not only will it be a resume booster, but it will excite you and give you the motivation to keep working hard in your courses!

11026013_10206369672503247_6133141249232439455_n

-Erica

Leave a Reply

