10 Things That Make Me Happy

30 Oct

1) Rain/Thunder: Rain alone creates a comforting environment for me. It almost turns the building or house I’m in into a safe haven, if that makes any sense. But when it’s accompanied by thunder, I’m pretty much on cloud nine. Hearing it almost creates an adrenaline rush in me. The subtle air of mystery cheers me right up!

2) Overcast weather: This may stem from the fact that I spent a large portion of my life in Alaska. There’s just something about the lack of sunlight and a light chill in the air that makes getting out of bed totally worth it. As soon as I peek out my window and see gray skies, my mood instantly lifts.

3) Playing my saxophone: I rarely play it anymore, but when I do, all those feelings of being in the school band and the marching band come rushing back to me. Those are some of the happiest memories of my life, so it’s an instant mood booster.  I may have lost my edge by not consistently practicing, but I’m probably going to keep that saxophone for the rest of my life.

4) Exploring airports: Going through security is my least favorite part, but once I get past it, the real fun starts. I love stumbling upon all of the random stores and food places. This is why I especially enjoy the Seattle airport. But once I get it out of my system, I grab a magazine and a chai tea from Starbucks and find the perfect seat to chill.

5) Watching interviews with Amy Schumer: I discovered the hilarious Amy Schumer from her movie Trainwreck, and decided to research her further. So of course I went to YouTube and searched “Amy Schumer” and couple of interviews came up. An interview she had with Ellen especially caught my eye. I laughed, I cried, and I was happy.   

6) Korean Pop: I actually did not enjoy it right off the bat when a good friend of mine showed me a music video for ‘Spy’ by a boy band called Super Junior. But once I had the chance to do a little researching on my own, I slowly but surely got seriously hooked! To this day I’m still trying to get my friends to enjoy it as much as I do. But for now, it’s just my boyfriend and me happily struggling to sing the lyrics to EXO’s ‘Love Me Right’ in our car.

 7) Making my boyfriend laugh: Speaking of boyfriends, whenever I manage to make mine laugh, I consider it a major success. The reason why is because it’s him who’s making me laugh 97% of the time, which, of course, is absolutely nothing to complain about. But being the type of person who enjoys making others laugh, it’s a definite priority to turn the tables. When I do, it’s usually because I’m being clumsy or awkward, which is completely fine with me, as long I can make him laugh.

 8) Cleaning/organizing: Now I definitely get this from my mother. She keeps her house so clean and proper that it could easily be mistaken as a bed and breakfast in Connecticut. Though I’m not that extreme when it comes to keeping my room tidy, it helps me mentally when I have some sort of organization in my life. Usually before I do homework I make sure the environment I’m doing it in (which usually my room) is neat and visually pleasing. So once I make my bed, put all my cups in the kitchen sink, and sanitize every hard surface, I’m very satisfied and ready to work.

9) Listening to people: I’m really glad working as a peer mentor for ASA is my job, because I love listening to people. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy doing my fair share of contributing to the conversation, but it’s really nice hearing what others have to say. I want my friends, family, and students to feel like they can tell me anything, without worrying about not having my undivided attention. I know how good it feels to get all of your thoughts and feelings out, especially when you’re just having one of those days.

10) Family/Friends: I think this goes without saying for most people. Since my immediate family does not live anywhere near me, I still feel so much better whenever I get a chance to talk to them on the phone. And if I can’t do that, I have my boyfriend and his family, and my family at work, and my family in NASA (Native American Student Affairs). I know they will be there for me no matter what, and knowing that makes me the happiest.

-Casey

Leave a Reply

