#NovemberToRemember: Thanksgiving with Family and Friends

30 Nov

This past Thanksgiving week was one for the books! I was able to spend valuable time with my best friends and family members. Not to mention, this was the first time I was able to relax from school, work, extracurriculars, and medical school applications!

Thanksgiving

This past Tuesday, I had the chance to plan a Friendsgiving with my friends at my apartment. I was in charge of making the corn, green beans, stuffing, cornbread, and rice. I had my other friends divide up the remaining dishes including mashed potatoes, salad, garlic bread, chicken, sweet potatoes, and pies. We had such a fantastic time catching up and bonding over the delicious foods we had prepared.

Thanksgiving 2

On Wednesday, I headed back home to Phoenix to celebrate Thanksgiving with my family and friends. Every year, my mom has over 20 people to celebrate, so most of Wednesday was spent grocery shopping, cleaning, and preparing the Thanksgiving feast. She made cornbread stuffing, cranberry sauce, roasted brussel sprouts, garlic mashed potatoes, apple cider, and turkey. I loved watching my mom prepare such traditional Thanksgiving dishes with a unique twist!

Thanksgiving 3

On Thursday, we began eating our Thanksgiving feast around noon. By evening, everyone was sleepy, full, but still ready to shop. My family, high school friends, and I all hit the malls around 8pm for the Black Friday deals.

Black Friday

Luckily the mall wasn’t as hectic and packed as I had expected, so I was able to get all my shopping done in peace. I definitely shopped until I dropped, which was relaxing and very much needed!

The rest of my weekend was spent trying to burn off all the food I had consumed by putting up the lights outside and decorating the house!

I hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving with their family and friends. We are so close to winter break, I cannot wait to continue to bond with the ones that mean the most to me!

-Erica S.

Leave a Reply

