Try, Try Again

8 Jan

Every semester I have the same great idea: I should wake up early every morning and work out before I go to work and class! This for me is always easier said than done. Usually, this is how it goes:

  1. I get super excited about my plans of waking up and working out and feel like I am on top of the world.
  2. The day before, I prepare everything so I can get up and exercise. I even go to bed early to get a good night’s rest.
  3. I do not get out of bed and wait until the last minute to get up and scramble to get ready for school.
  4. I am almost late to class and I decide to try again next week.
  5. Repeat this process every week in the semester.

Going into fall semester of 2015, of course I had the same perfect idea. I decided to stay up after my boyfriend leaves for work. He would leave a hour before I had to start getting for school and I could use this time to get up, do a quick workout and then go straight to class. I thought this plan was fool proof but unfortunately the process repeated itself. I woke up on Monday morning and I felt like I got hit by a bus. It was 6:00 am and my boyfriend is already saying goodbye before I could even get my head around what day it was. I send him off with a kiss and then I eye the bed. It is so inviting and warm that I instantly go back in. Before I know it, an hour goes by and I need to start getting ready before I am late to class.

Spring semester of 2016 is going to be different. From my past experiences, waking up early in the morning to work out clearly does not work for me. In the morning, I would rather sleep than do any thing else so I have decided to make room in my schedule for working out in the afternoon. I have a pretty good schedule for this semester and have blocked off a certain time to work out at the Rec Center on campus. I plan on bringing an extra set of clothes so I can go to the gym after my last class. Hopefully, this semester and year, I have a little more focus on being healthier.

-Courtney

Leave a Reply

