#JumpStartJanuary: Baking Is Life

1 Feb

I didn’t choose the baking life, the baking life chose me. Baking is one of my most delicious hobbies. It helps me get out of my head and work with my hands, which is a tremendous stress reliever. I don’t normally make New Year’s resolutions but this year I decided to push myself to learn at least 1 new recipe per month.

Since it is Jump Start January, I decided to get started early and choose my first recipe. My first recipe of the year was Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. A friend of mine requested this specific type of cookie, and because I don’t often eat what I bake, it was perfect to know that the cookies would not go to waste.

I found a quick and easy recipe online that outlined everything from ingredients, to prep time, and baking time. I did not have most of the ingredients, but thankfully I was heading to the grocery store that day. I was a little nervous to try the recipe because I had never worked with brown sugar or oatmeal as my main ingredients. I was very strategic about my baking process because I wanted to make sure that the cookies came out correctly. The one hiccup I had was when I wasn’t sure how fluffy my wet mixture was supposed to be before I added the dry ingredients. After paying close attention to what the mixture did as it sat for a few minutes, I realized what level it should rise to and I moved forward. I did a little experimenting with baking times so that I could figure out how to cook them properly in my oven. I found that they needed to be cooked a few minutes longer than the recipe called for.

I am happy to report that my cookies were a hit. They were crispy around the edges and soft and chewy in the middle. The recipe made around 24 cookies or more, but they were devoured in less than 2 days amongst 4 people. I plan on keeping the momentum going by learning how to make apple pie in February.

Erika

Leave a Reply

