I Can’t Today

5 Feb

The hardest thing that I found while attending college is to learn how to say no to people when they ask to hang out. With me, I find this harder with my family over anyone else. Every Friday my brother, sister, and parents all play together on a family volleyball team and unfortunately, a lot of the time, I have to say no to attending. During the week, I have a lot of stuff going on. I have a full class schedule, a ton of homework that takes a lot of outside time to finish, and I work during the week and on the weekend. With everything going on in my life, I sometimes get overwhelmed with projects and feel like my time would be better spent on working on projects rather than playing volleyball anywhere from 6pm to 11pm.

This is something that I face every Friday. I hate to let my family down but a lot of the time I have so much work to get done. With all of the kids out of the nest, my parents feel like we do not get a lot of family time like we used to when we all lived together. This was the main reason that we started playing volleyball. The first time that this situation occurred, I dreaded talking to them and letting them know that I was not going to be able to go to volleyball. I did not want to ditch from family time, but I had an essay that was due on Monday that was far from complete. I talked to my mom before hand about being stressed out about my paper but she encouraged me to get it done because she wanted to see me on Friday. My entire family let me know that they wanted me there and it would not be the same without me. I felt worse about saying that I was not going to be able to make it.

I finally got the courage to talk to my mom and let her know that I was going to miss volleyball this week. When I called her, my heart was pounding and I did not want her to be upset or get mad at me because I was not going to be there. Instead, I was surprised. She understood where I was coming from and understood that school always comes first. I am in college now where there are different expectations for students. She let me know that everyone understood and it was all right that I missed volleyball.

-Courtney

Leave a Reply

