The Simple Things That Count

12 Feb

Dear reader,

Many people’s first interpretation of the word “volunteer”  is often associated with big groups/associations and long hours.

ivolunteer

However, little did you know that volunteering simply means helping someone who needs it.

  • Volunteer (n): a person who voluntarily offers himself or herself for a service or undertaking. (Dictionary.com)

turtle-bros-helping-each-other-out                                                        

I have done my share of volunteer work and it is a refreshing experience. Helping someone is one of the most rewarding feelings I have ever experienced. I can honestly say that these experiences have helped me become the person I am today.

I have volunteered for the SILC lab over at the Nursing college helping the lab coordinator prepare packets for the students. I offered to help her because she had mentioned to me that she had been very busy for the last couple of days and was behind schedule.

giphy (1)

Another time I volunteered was when I helped the Guerrero Center serve food during their AROMAS event. They were a bit under-staffed and so I offered my help in order to get the assembly line moving smoothly again. The center’s director couldn’t stop thanking me and it was very heart warming.

Lastly, I offered to take a friend to his oncology appointments and keep him company. Health issues are obviously a very difficult thing to deal with on your own and he has no family up here. He kept telling me that I didn’t need to, but I could see it in his face that he was glad someone was there to help him get through the doctor visits.

FJM2IcY

Volunteering can come in many shapes and forms. You don’t need to be a part of an organization or club in order to do so. Remember, it’s the little things that count too.

‘Til next time,

Becky

Leave a Reply

