Don’t Call It A Comeback

21 Feb

Setting a goal is easy; accomplishing a goal takes strength.

It’s important to know that while on the road to accomplishing goals, detours may pop up at the most unexpected moments. The good thing about this is that those detours may bring us off track but it will never stop us from reaching our destination.

In my case, there was a time when I felt as if life was coming down on me all at once. My exam scores weren’t looking so good, my grades began to slip, and I began to question whether or not I really wanted to be at a university. It wasn’t until one day I realized that no one said it would be easy, no one said that once you got to college all of the classes would be a piece a cake.

I knew that if I wanted things to change I had to make an adjustment; so I did.

At this time, one of the most important things I had to adjust was my study habits. I was so used to understanding material and concepts during class that when I started to take tougher classes I struggled. But when I started to review content from the lecture during my free time, and go to my professors’ office hours when I didn’t understand some of my classes material, I saw a major pick up in my grades, and also a huge pick up in my attitude about school.

All in all, I just wanted to share my experience with you all to let you all know that it is easy to get discouraged when things aren’t going as planned. It’s easy to give up during hard times. It’s not easy to make adjustments and getting back on track to accomplishing the goals you’ve set for yourself. What helps me to get through all of the road blocks and detours in life is knowing that those tough moments will only make me stronger and, most importantly, if it were easy then everyone would do it. But you can do it.

Until next time,
Darius Amos

 

Leave a Reply

