#FearlessFebruary: Overcoming Obstacles

29 Feb

There have been times where I have been forced to do things that are out of my comfort zone. In the beginning of February I was practically forced to go on an extreme adventure course. The reason why I was “forced” is because I had to chaperon my 13-year -old sister and 12-year-old cousin. They had been wanting to go on an adventure course for a really long time and when we went to Flagstaff we found out there was such a thing, called the Flagstaff Extreme Adventure Course.

At first I was just informed that I was going to stay with the girls while they completed the course. Then, I was told that I actually had to get on. Before I got, there my sister had tried showing me pictures and I was not really interested in seeing them since I thought I did not have to get on. I was trying to be positive, but I was cold and there was a lot of snow..The next thing that concerned me was that the course got harder as you progressed. There were four levels that needed to pass to complete the entire course.

The first level was tough and I felt that I was making every one slow down. As I proceeded and saw that I was overcoming hard obstacles I started to get motivated and lost my fear of heights. I made it through the first three levels then things started to get complicated and nearly impossible for me to do. My little cousin felt the same way. We decided that we wanted to get off, but we were at the top of tall pine tree. The staff from the extreme course had to get us down. I was proud because I had finished the third level. Surprisingly, I was on the course for three hours. The only person that finished was my sister, who is in gymnastics.

Without a doubt this was one of the funnest things that I had ever done. Even if I was scared at first, I loved the fact that I can say that I have been on an extreme obstacle course. Also, I was able to check off zip lining on my bucket list.

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 1.12.03 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 1.12.22 PM.png

Leave a Reply

