#FearlessFebruary: Too Many Responsibilities

1 Mar

My mom once told me “They can take everything away from you and you will still have your education”. To me this is a gentle way of saying you don’t need to have money in order to succeed. Many times I commit to new responsibilities without realistically asking myself if I can even add another task to my schedule. I noticed and have recognized this to be an addiction of mine. I have a slight problem to over comitting to new tasks and unfortunately I did over commit this semester. I began the semester with 15 units for the first time. I originally take 18-19 each semester. I thought I’d take it easy on myself and little by little I saw myself increasing in units and outside responsibilities. I will be explaining how I slowly fell into 18 units and more responsibilities in a matter of a month.

  1. I began volunteering at Banner UMC, which is a 4 hour commitment one day a week. I originally volunteered in Phoenix and finally got my hours to transfer. IMG_2796
  2. I waited till the deadline to add a 3 unit course because I knew it was going to be a huge commitment. This now places me at 18 units. I had promised myself I wouldn’t.  Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 9.42.15 AM
  3. I continued volunteering with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Tucson it is a one day one hour commitment out of the week. Many times I get invited to outside events such as dinner and I do attend. IMG_2602
  4. I am currently in the process of filling out paperwork to volunteer for the department of child safety and hope to hear back this week. 

Although my schedule is jammed pack I feel that everything I am currently involved with is benefiting me in every way possible. New doors are slowly being opened. I won’t lie and say that this is easy. I find it difficult to manage my time just last night I stayed up until 4am. I have been admired for all of my commitments and from time to time I get a couple of compliments on my organization skills. I will be open and say I have already missed an assignment this semester and to me this feels like the end of the world. I accidentally missed the second part of the assignment which was to respond to another classmate. Being involved is highly stressed upon but no one really tells you the stress that you will feel. I am worried that I will slowly lose my organization skills as well as my time management. I am being brave and believing in myself to continue with these programs because they are what truly make me who I am.

Thanks for reading!

-Vanessa

Leave a Reply

