Spring Cleaning

7 Mar

Spring is supposed to be a time for new beginnings. This is why we have Spring Cleaning- so we can clean up our lives and get rid of all the icky stuff. Sometimes this means letting go of bad relationships and bad habits.

Spring has always been a time of productivity for me. I usually take on multiple projects and really hit my stride. The spring semester of my junior year was the first time I truly embrace the idea of spring cleaning, and tried something new for myself.

During the fall semester of my Junior year, I had a falling out with my roommate, who happened to be my best friend, it was my first semester working, and it was just a difficult time for me. When spring finally arrived, I was motivated to make a change for myself and focus on my personal growth. I decided to stop holding on to all the hurt my ex-bestfriend had caused, I chose to get more involved at work, and I stayed on top of all my classes. Doing this was difficult. Hitting a bad patch in life is extremely hard because it taints all areas of your life. I had never felt more alone than I did during the fall semester my junior year, but as I started to focus on work and classes my loneliness started to dissipate. I made new friends from class and work, I felt productive as my grades started to improve, and I started to appreciate myself more.

Trying new things can be stressful and may seem unrewarding at first, but stick it out and things will get better. I needed time to focus on myself and replenish my supply of inner peace. I am much better off now because I took the time to check in with myself and reorganize my priorities. It is now my the spring semester of my senior year and the good habits I created a year ago are still paying off. Don’t be afraid to stand up for yourself and make changes. You deserve to be appreciated and cared for, and it’s okay to take the time to appreciate and care for yourself. Always keep fighting, and embrace spring cleaning.

-Erika

Leave a Reply

