Registration Readiness

10 Apr

It’s time for registration! When you’re scrolling through the course catalog and loading up your shopping cart, make sure you’re still planning ahead.

Between the middle and the end of each semester it’s always a good idea to keep an eye on your UAccess homepage. The margin on the right will display notices, holds, and important things to do that are crucial to your success as a student. I always look for my enrollment appointment date and write it down in my calendar. It’s not a bad idea to wake up early the day registration opens so you can lock down important classes.

In order to familiarize myself with where I am in my degree plan, I always look at my advisement report in UAccess. This is sometimes confusing, so I make an appointment with my advisor so that she can go over it with me in detail.

Advisors are indispensable. They can show you where you are in your degree plan,  make a comprehensive list of required classes you have left, and help you choose the best classes for your degree. I always feel like my head is spinning when I walk into my advisors office, but when I leave, I feel confident that I am on track and capable of accomplishing my goals.

Choosing between identical classes taught by different professors can be like choosing between “mystery door number 1” and “mystery door number 2”. I always talk to professors I enjoyed who teach within the same department. Chances are, if you liked the way they taught, then they’ll know who else in their department has a similar teaching style. They also know who specializes in what within their field and they can usually tell you who will be best for a particular class.

Once I know what classes I need and I’ve selected them all, I always try to narrow down my shopping cart, making sure I have enough time in my schedule to work and eat lunch. When the date and time of my enrollment date roll around, I’m on my UAccess page, ready to register.

When a class fills up before I can sign up for it, I keep checking on it as time goes on.  Other people drop and swap their classes, and I always try to be vigilant in case that lucky seat opens up. Other times I have been on the waiting list, and I’ve even begged my way into a class on the first day. The important thing is to be assertive and not to lose hope.

A little bit of planning can go a very long way when it comes to keeping your head on straight and carrying your confidence across semesters. Don’t hesitate to reach out for some of the resources around you and make sure your registration comes off without a hitch this semester.

Leave a Reply

