#AdventurousApril: Brunch Time

19 Apr

One of the great things that I love about living downtown is that I have easy access to a lot of amazing restaurants. Living on a college student budget means that I don’t get to go to these nice restaurants very often, which means that I get ridiculously excited when I do have the time and money to go.

I had never been to brunch before. Sure, I’ve gone out to breakfast and I’ve gone out to lunch, but never brunch. One of the reasons is because I’m very picky about when I eat eggs and the foods I combine eggs with. This month, I was feeling super adventurous and so found a place to have brunch. My roommate and I were up early last Sunday morning, and we hadn’t been grocery shopping in a while, so our food options were limited. I turned to my roommate and said “Why don’t we go out for brunch?” This surprised her, but she didn’t want to let the opportunity pass and happily agreed to accompany me to brunch.

We went online and search for good, reasonably priced, convenient places to go for brunch and we found Nook. The restaurant was within walking distance and their menu looked bomb. We got dressed quickly and headed out. It was quite the journey getting there because we weren’t exactly sure where it was. We walked and walked until finally we found it. We chose to sit at the breakfast bar so that we didn’t have to wait, and it was the best decision ever.

I love cooking shows and basically anything food related. I love to cook and try new things. When we sat down, I looked over to my left to see another guest receive her food and I immediately knew that I wanted the same. It was a beautiful platter of eggs, potatoes, and steak. It smelled like heaven. When it was my turn to order, I asked for a lemonade and the steak platter. While we waited for our food, we watched the chefs skillfully construct all these decadent dishes and talked about graduation. The lemonade was perfect. It was just sweet enough and not too sour. My food was to die for. It was perfectly cooked and deliciously seasoned. This was my first time having brunch and I cant wait to go back. The next time someone wants to go out for brunch, I’m recommending the Nook.

Leave a Reply

