The Maze of Majors

16 Sep

maze.jpg

One of the scariest feelings coming into college is feeling like you chose the wrong path and don’t like your major. Then comes the fear of having to change majors and all that that entails. Unfortunately, that’s exactly what happened to me. All throughout my last two years of high school I thought I wanted to be an engineer. However, a month into my freshman year, I hated my major. My classes bored me and I wasn’t interested in the subject material at all. Even worse, I couldn’t see myself actually working as an engineer in the future at all. I didn’t know what to do and felt so alone because everyone else I knew loved their major. I felt like no one knew what I was going through.

If you’re feeling this way, believe it or not, you aren’t alone. Feeling out of place in your initial major is such a common feeling among freshman (and sophomores, and even upperclassmen!). In fact, between 50% and 70% of all college undergraduate students will end up changing their major. Most will actually change on average of three times. So what do you do when you feel this way?

The best thing to do if you feel lost in your major is to seek help! There are so many resources, both in person and online, that can help you navigate what to do next. For me, I talked to my parents, checked out my other options online through Degree Search, and reached out to my advisor in my current major as well as an advisor for a major that I was considering changing to. This was a great opportunity of self-discovery for me that I wasn’t expecting. I learned that what I thought I liked doing, math and science, wasn’t actually what I enjoyed. I realized that I hated the thought of working on one project for months on end and wanted something more dynamic.

While all of this might seem daunting, it’s worth exploring if it will lead to a major perfectly fit for you. All of these resources were so helpful and made me feel so much better about my situation. I realized that it was ok to feel lost and out of place and that I had so many options out there. I also realized that it was ok that I didn’t like my major and that there was no reason to feel bad about it. It was ok that I felt like I didn’t belong because it helped lead me to where I did belong and to a major that makes me excited about my future education and career. For those of you who were wondering, I ended up selecting pre-business. However, I again wasn’t interested in that and but changed again over the summer to animal science with the goal of becoming a vet. Now I love what I’m doing and am so excited for the future.

So if you, too are feeling lost and uninterested in your major, that’s ok! Seek help, be willing to do the work required to either change majors or find solutions to feel better in your current major, and you might just find out what you were meant to do all along!

-Jessica

maze-2

Leave a Reply

