How I Knew Pharmacy Was for Me

23 Sep

Picking a major or career path was probably one of the most difficult decisions that I have made in my life. Although it sounds rather simple, choosing a job that you’ll be working for the majority of your life is more complex than it seems. In my case, I fell in love with my career choice after a shadowing opportunity during the summer before my freshman year of college. This experience changed my life.

Throughout high school, I always knew that I wanted to pursue a career in the medical field but I had a hard time picking which career caught my attention. It wasn’t until I participated in a shadowing position at Banner Health Hospital in Phoenix that I knew that I wanted to pursue a career in pharmacy.

My first day in a pharmacy setting was intense and very fast paced. The majority of the time I was filling and labeling prescriptions with a few other pharmacy technicians. The lead pharmacist was very helpful whenever I had any questions about how certain protocols should be followed. I believe her positive energy played a large role in me being comfortable while working. Over the course of time, I learned so much and met so many new customers who I feel like I had a positive influence in their day. Seeing the smiles on customers’ faces while checking out their prescription or making sure their insurance was updated gave me a lot of satisfaction. I enjoyed having the opportunity to help people in so many different ways.

And that’s how I knew that pharmacy was for me!

Until Next Time,

Darius Amos

 

One Response to “How I Knew Pharmacy Was for Me”

  1. Tran Ngo September 26, 2016 at 1:25 PM #

    Hi, what major are you pursing right now? I’m also interested in a career in Pharmacy too but I’m having a hard time to pick the right major for me. Do you have any advices for me?

Leave a Reply

