Got the Homesick Blues?

14 Oct

So it’s the middle of October and midterms are coming up, finals are pretty much around the corner and you’re freaking out because you can’t find your phone even though it’s right in your hand. You feel really overwhelmed and all you want is to be back home where life was a lot easier than it is now. It may not be as drastic but getting homesick is really common. Even though I only live two hours away from home, it can still be rough.

1

I was feeling all of these emotions my first semester and I thought I was the only one. But don’t worry. I can almost assure you that you’re not. My friends were feeling the stress and emotions with me and even though you might feel like this homesickness won’t go away, it does! I dealt with this a couple times and the things I did to help get over it usually worked for me.

The first thing I would do when I missed home was to call or Facetime my family. Talking to them helped take the edge off of feeling homesick. I know sometimes life can get super busy and you don’t even have the time to call home, but take a 5-minute break and call. You’ll be feeling better and it always helped me destress. I mean the phone call would be filled with my dad making basic dad jokes but sometimes that’s all I needed to help me get through the week.

Another thing I always overlooked and contributed to me being super stressed and feeling homesick was not taking time for myself. Between class, work, and lecture, I would always forget to dedicate some time for myself to relax for a little bit. Whether you go out and get some tea and chill or watch an episode of your favorite show on Netflix, remember to take a break in your busy schedule. Otherwise, you burn out way too quickly and feel even more stressed. Your mental and physical health are just as important as the classes you’re taking.

2

The next thing I did to help fill the void that homesickness left was to hang out with my friends. Surrounding myself with people who were going through the same things as me helped a lot! It helped me realize that I really wasn’t the only one feeling all the stress from class and work. Also hanging out with my friends, even if it was just to run to the turtle pond really quick in the middle of the night was a fun time. My friends really helped take my mind off of feeling homesick and I was able to help do the same for them.

Overall, if you do take anything away from this, it should be that feeling homesick is okay and you’re not alone. The middle of the semester always seems to be the most stressful time because so much work happens to be piling up. But keep grinding and surround yourself with people who make you feel like you can accomplish anything and before you know it, you’ll have completed your first semester of college and you’ll be back home before you know it!

3

-Mehruba

Leave a Reply

