A Little Ray of Sunshine

23 Oct

Throughout my college career, I have been overly stressed out more times than I can count. Between going to class, homework, studying, and extracurriculars it feels like there is never enough time in the day. At the end of the spring semester my freshman year, I had 4 exams on one day- the week before finals. The weeks leading up to that day I would have told you stressed out was an understatement. I was helping with a huge campus event and getting transitioned into a new leadership role.

nature-photography-iceplant
I am so lucky that I had such a supportive group of friends and family during that time. I was feeling really down about myself because I was not doing very well in my Calculus 2 class and I honestly thought that I was going to fail a class for the first time in my life (luckily, it turned out alright). Throughout it all, they reminded me that I am capable of more than I think I am and that just being in college is a major feat and grades do not define me. Those words of affirmation were what really got me through the last bit of the semester.

1345859344268941

I knew that I had to strategize to prepare for this major task in front of me. I could have chosen to buckle down and study really hard every single day in the month of April, but I knew that I would burn myself out. So I made a deal with myself: get homework for the week done early and study for at least 3 hours a week and then I could enjoy the awesome events happening, like Spring Fling. Thankfully, that strategy worked out really well for me. I was able to really take in what my friends and family had told me and knew that I needed to do my best, but enjoying yourself every once in a while was not going to be the end of the world if I prepared properly.

ButterflyYellow.gif

During this time, I started exploring more of the campus by taking walks and I was surprised at how beautiful it really is. I had walked past the same places day after day but was always in such a rush that I hadn’t taken the time to actually stop and appreciate it all. Since then I have learned to give myself enough time to really soak in my environments and be more present. Sometimes hope and happiness present themselves in unexpected ways, and I’m so grateful that I was able to learn that through this stressful situation.

Leave a Reply

