#OutrageousOctober: Scaring People

29 Oct

We’d all be lying if we ever said a haunted house has never made us flinch. Sure, you’re tough and you’re mighty, but the moment you hear a loud random noise or a guy with a chainsaw comes close to you, your body tenses a bit. It’s okay, we’ve all been there.

scared.gif

This October, we were all challenged to do something ‘outrageous’. I’m definitely not cool enough to go through an entire haunted house by myself – that’d be absolutely terrifying. I did, however, get the opportunity to volunteer at the local Tucson haunted houses, and can I say, it was nothing short of chaotic.

For all of you who don’t know me, I am probably the most easily scared person out there. Anything with a sudden loud noise has me panicked, so, I was on edge, to say the least, for most of the nights.

superscared

I worked two nights in two different haunts, the first being a Voodoo themed, outdoor maze, and the second being a cannibalistic maze in which the actors were allowed to touch the participants. The picture below is a picture of what I look like – usually.

img_20160913_222152

Night 1:

snapchat-1363219605614429671

The first night I worked, I played a voodoo priestess, which entailed of an amazingly detailed costume, teased hair, and a mask. My job? I was to pretend I was sacrificing something and just be straight-up weird. I can honestly say, I have never made people feel so uncomfortable before; I would stalk towards them in a twisted and distorted fashion –my double jointed capabilities really came in handy – and I would ask them if they would participate in my sacrifice –and if they said yes, which some did, I told them to get atop of the alter table I had, and in that moment, they realized I was talking about offering them as a sacrifice. I channeled my inner Cara Delevingne and tried to be like Enchantress, resulting in me making most people uncomfortable, chanting incomprehensible words at them. IT WAS A BLAST.

Night 2:

snapchat-1866121716791411733

don’t mind the caption, I was trying to convince my friends I was super cool

The second night was a little less glamorous. The haunt I was placed in was cannibalistic,  meaning that it was (human) meat themed, which entailed of me wearing a torn blazer with fake blood and wounds on my body. Not only did it smell rank, but it was also dark, and I was sitting on the floor, waiting to physically attack people. This haunt specifically is a haunt where the actors can touch the participants – which is terrifying. I was known as the ‘maggot girl,’ which meant I was sitting bent over a toilet pretending to eat maggots out of it for the whole night. I would stare at participants as they walked by me, make an inhumane screech, and crawl at them, grabbing for ankles. I did scare people, no doubt about that, and I definitely freaked people out, but I also did get kicked a few times. The job wasn’t glamorous, but it sure was fun to see people scream at the top of their lungs.

ahh

So, as I look back on it, I would definitely recommend working at a haunted house. You’re on the other side of the spectrum, getting the satisfaction of making someone scream at the top of their lungs without actually hurting them.

scary

Plus, you get to wear cool costumes and get your makeup done.

Stay fabulous and scary, friends!

fab

-Lils

 

Leave a Reply

