How to Adult

3 Nov

Adulthood could be quite scary when you think about it. I recently turned 21 in September, yet I feel as if I’ve been an adult since I was an 18-year-old college freshman in an unfamiliar town called Tucson. From experience, I’ve learned the hard way that adulthood comes with a whole lot responsibilities. Because of this, I thought I’d share a few tips to help you tackle adulthood headfirst.

1. Paying bills!

The most important responsibility that comes with being an adult is paying bills. Moving into my first apartment right out of high school required for me to get used to paying rent and electricity bills, and not only paying them but paying them on time to avoid late fees. Paying bills on time is very important. In fact, it could affect your credit. Speaking of credit, this leads me to my next tip.

2. Credit Cards

My first encounter with a credit card came as soon as I  got to college. At the time I thought it was great, I mean who doesn’t like free money, right? Sadly, I learned the hard way that the money I had spent had to be paid back with interest. Some words of advice from me to you all is to be cautious with your credit card spending because you will have to pay the money back.

3. Prioritizing

From experience, I’ve learned that majority of the stress that adulthood brings can be resolved by prioritizing your responsibilities. One of the helpful things that I’ve picked up throughout the years is writing upcoming bill dates in the calendar app on my phone. This makes sure that I’m constantly reminded when an upcoming bill is approaching. Another thing that comes along with prioritizing as an adult is making sure all bills are paid before splurging on yourself.  One of the greatest downfalls of being an adult is being an adult. And is an adult you no longer have excuses to why you haven’t paid your bills.

I hope that  this guide and my past experience provide you all some tips that will allow you to prepare for adulthood.

Until Next Time,

Darius Amos

Leave a Reply

