#NovembertoRemember: Airplane Adventure

19 Nov

I wanted to do something special for my boyfriend, Daron. He’s been working so hard this semester and I wanted to help him celebrate all that he’s accomplished.

download

Daron absolutely loves planes, he’s even majoring in Aerospace Engineering. I decided to surprise him with tickets to the Pima Air and Space Museum! They have a ton of huge planes ranging from new exciting ones to antiques that are no longer operational. I knew it’d be a little slice of heaven for him.

pima-air-space-museum-beauty-of-flight-sign

I’m horrible with surprises, so it was extremely difficult to keep the secret from him. I wanted to tell him every day leading up to it, but I stayed strong and waited until the day finally came. I woke up on a Saturday morning to find Daron in the living room playing Xbox. I tried my best to hide my smile with no success, he immediately knew something was up. His first words to me were, “what’s going on?” I asked if he had any plans for the day and he said, “you’re looking at them.” I then broke, I couldn’t hold it in any longer! I screamed, “well how about going to the Pima Air and Space Museum to look at planes all day!” Immediately my boyfriend got excited. He asked if I was teasing him then I showed the tickets for proof and he jumped up. We got ready then the happiest day began. The whole time driving to the museum my boyfriend was looking up the museum because he didn’t know what they offered. The more planes he saw on the website the more excited he got.

fullsizerender-2

We finally arrived at the museum and began exploring. He wanted to see every plane and every display down to the smallest detail. To be honest, I’m not the biggest plane person, but seeing and hearing how excited Daron was made me excited for him. His favorite planes to look at were the fighter jets.

jamie-judy-wild-1950-s-jet-fighters-pima-air-and-space-museum-tucson-arizona-usa

He explained all about how the main reason planes took off (pun intended) was for war. Even though it’s sad that that was a huge motivation it helped progress planes to what we know today. We spent about 2 hours wandering around the museum, then it was time for my last surprise. There was a bonus tour to see the museum’s “graveyard” of planes that I surprised my boyfriend with.

tour

I swear in almost 3 years of dating him he’s never looked at me like he looked at those planes. Daron had an amazing time, as did I. Making the people you love happy is one of the best things you can do in life. It was absolutely a November to Remember.

-Alyssa

Leave a Reply

