#NovembertoRemember: Drama Drama Drama

20 Nov

Musicals, operas, orchestra performances, all of these things have been very important to me throughout my life. I remember watching my first musical, The Sound of Music, when I was 5. Since then, I have been obsessed with everything musical. Unfortunately being in college has put a damper on my passion. I do not have the time or the money to go to shows like I used to. Luckily, the UofA offers a discount to students who go to student performances!

This past weekend I was able to attend a performance of the operas “Beauty and the Beast” and “Les Enfants et Les Sortiliges” put on by the UofA. Opera is not for everyone, many people get annoyed by the constant singing and the lack of English, but for those who really enjoy opera, this was a great one! I don’t know about y’all, but I constantly find myself avoiding friends to finish homework or to get a little time to myself. Luckily I had a few friends who wanted to go to this as well, so it was a way to socialize too!

I always forget how much I love theater until I return to it. I was always the spectator, and I have never really had any desire to be an actor, but watching these performers reminded me how amazing people are. In today’s society, it is east to say that the arts are underappreciated which is why I try my hardest to attend events and support them. These operas were fairly short, they only lasted about two hours total, but they were enough to help inspire me, and in a month like November, I can use all the inspiration I can get!

-Chrissy

Leave a Reply

