#NovembertoRemember: Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum

21 Nov

Being a born and raised Arizonan, I would have considered myself fairly knowledgeable on all things pertaining to our great state. From learning the 5 C’s in elementary school (for those of you that don’t know them, they’re cotton, copper, cattle, climate, and citrus), to visiting sites such as Kartchner Caverns, the Botanical Garden, and the Grand Canyon, I figured I was pretty well-versed on everything Arizona had to offer. So when one of my clubs offered free admission to the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, I figured everything there would be pretty familiar but that it would still be a really cool opportunity to see some local wildlife (since I love animals) and plants and maybe learn something new, so my roommate and I signed up for the trip and went.

On a warm November morning, we loaded a bus and hit the road. Although the drive was about 40 minutes long, it didn’t feel that long at all. When we got there, my roommate and I immediately mapped out a game plan in order to maximize what we could see. We only had two hours there and upon seeing a map of the museum, we knew we’d have to be pretty thrifty with our time. The park was huge and had multiple loops of paths, all filled with animals and plant life. While the plants were pretty typical for what I was used to in Arizona, I was really surprised by some of the animals that we saw. While some were expected, such as coyotes, toads, snakes, and various birds, the presence of otters, stingrays, and beavers surprised me. What I really liked was that the museum addressed why these animals were there and how they could be native to the Sonoran Desert and it’s surrounding areas.

I really enjoyed the whole museum and probably can’t pick a favorite thing that I saw. There was an aquarium, reptile house, desert hike loop, two aviaries, various underground viewing areas, gardens exhibiting different types of plants and insects, and so much more. If you’re ever looking for anything to do in or around Tucson, I would highly recommend going. There was so much to see and learn. While I was only there for about 2 hours, you could definitely stretch your trip out longer. At only $20.50 a ticket ($15.15 if you’re an Arizona/Sonora resident), this is a fairly inexpensive way to spend a morning or afternoon. Rather than sitting at home watching TV or going to see a movie, this is a great way to get outdoors, be active, learn about something new, and see some amazing things. So if you’re new to Tucson and Arizona or if you’re an old native like me, I’d recommend checking out the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum for an afternoon of fun in your own backyard!

-Jessica

Leave a Reply

