How to Ace a Midterm in 6 Ways

26 Feb

 

MIDTERMS ARE COMING, or for some of y’all,  are already here!

begin

If midterms could talk, I feel like they’d say:

Let me begin with: I am not a professional student, I cannot guarantee an A on a test, I still struggle with midterms, however, I can give you tips of what has worked for me, what makes studying a little easier, what’s made me NOT want to cry 24/7!

  1. PACE YOURSELF.

Cramming everything at once will only get you so far. Instead, cram at a pace! Schedule it out! Cram small fragments at a time so that you’ll actually retain your information!

sevendays

YOU CAN DEFINITELY CRAM A LOT IN SEVEN DAYS!

 

  1. TAKE BREAKS.

Study for 30 minutes, take a 10 minute break! You’ll retain more than you give your brain credit for, and when you resume, you’ll be a bit more interested and able to focus!

nononon

 

  1. DON’T BE AFRAID TO COMPARE.

Compare your class notes with the in-class powerpoints. See if what you wrote explains what’s on the powerpoint OR see if you need to add new things to your notes! Comparing is always good to see what you need to fix!

copy

 

  1. WRITE IT OUT

Your brain retains information when you write it out. SO, if you have a list of formulas you NEED to have down, keep writing them out!

 

write

  1. ANALOGIES

If you need to remember stuff, make analogies! My brother will relate O-Chem to the NFL. I relate literature to song lyrics. WHATEVER WORKS FOR YOU. If you love something, tie it to something you need to remember for your courses!

lovefern

this fern, an analogy for our love

  1. IT’S OKAY TO CRY.

No seriously, let it out. I HATE CRYING, however, you need to let that stress out, you really do. I want you guys to know that stress can grow into an insurmountable ball of craziness waiting to explode! So, please, do not feel bad to cry. (pro tip: if you cry in the shower, are you really even crying?)

crazy

you don’t want to end up like this

crazzzy

OR THIS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good luck, guys! I know you can do this, I really do. A grade does not define who you are. Try hard, study hard, and do well. I know you guys can do this. I REALLY DO. If I can do it, you can too!

highfive

Stay beautiful,

Lils xx

Leave a Reply

