#FearlessFebruary: Room Escape

27 Feb

download-1

For my #FearlessFebruary Blog I decided to attempt a Room Escape, with another peer mentor, Mehruba. In case anyone reading decides they want to try the Room Escape, I won’t go into too much detail to spoil it.

Mehruba and I were very nervous about this adventure because we both have never tried anything like this. I am not claustrophobic, but I do slightly panic when I feel like there isn’t enough air in a space. For example, if I don’t get a lot of space at concerts I become really anxious that I won’t be able to breathe. I know it’s an irrational fear, but it still creeps me out. Leading up until the day we went, I was pretty excited. I love solving puzzles so I thought this would be something I would truly enjoy. The worry didn’t set in until the day of our scheduled appointment came. That morning, I began to slightly panic. I was worried about what would happen if we couldn’t solve a single puzzle. Nerves were in full force once I arrived at the place along with Mehruba.

images

I was close to giving up, but Mehruba was there to calm me down. She practically forced me into the building and we geared up for our hour long adventure. We weren’t allowed to have phones for any outside help. My phone is like a safety blanket, so this was a little challenge I had to overcome. Once we were in the room and the timer began, Mehruba and I were a mess. We had absolutely no idea where to start. There wasn’t any sort of direction!

158497237-lost

The timer wouldn’t stop and we definitely felt the pressure. We were given a hint and were able to find the first puzzle. The puzzle itself wasn’t too hard to solve, getting there was the issue. Once that task was done we went into a frenzy again looking for the next piece. We hit a wall and needed another hint. By the time the second hint was given to us. It was so nerve racking knowing that we were being timed! Luckily, I saw vents in the room so the idea of not having any air didn’t phase me.

We were given a second hint and it led us on the path we were supposed to take to escape the room. We were able to move forward, but unfortunately, it wasn’t quick enough. Mehruba and I weren’t able to complete the final puzzle and we did not escape the room. We both felt defeated, but proud. The Room Escape wasn’t like anything I expected. We had to think so far outside of the box that it tripped us up. We were proud that we were able to get as far as we did and I know if we had 15-20 more minutes we could have solved it.

giphy

Our Room Escape adventure was very nerve-racking, but I’m glad it was something I followed through with doing. If you want to have a fun challenge for an hour I would highly recommend Room Escape here in Tucson! Good luck!

-Alyssa

Leave a Reply

