#MiddlingMarch: Getting Creative

5 Apr

The middle of the semester is when I usually find myself starting to burn out. Between a full class load, work, extracurriculars, and maintaining a social life, it can feel like there isn’t a minute to spare for myself! My go-to activities to recharge allow me to explore my creative side.

Piano

This is a hobby I picked up when I was about 6 or 7 years old, and I’m so glad that I did. When I’m playing, I can exist in my own world for a little bit. I pour my emotions into the songs I am playing, and sometimes I just play random notes and melodies until I find something that I like. I recently bought the sheet music for La La Land’s soundtrack, so it has been a lot of fun learning to play catchy and upbeat tunes! I’ve never really played Jazz tunes before, so it’s presented me with new technical challenges as well.

Coloring books

The adult coloring book trend has been so helpful in terms of stress relief! I got the four seasons book at Michael’s about a year ago. I really enjoy getting to play around with color, designs, and blending techniques. I highly recommend getting one if you’re looking for a way to connect to your inner child. There are also some great apps and online coloring pages out there too!

Photography

This one is a new endeavour for me, but I have enjoyed it immensely! When I was a teenager, camera phones had just come out, so I started taking a lot of pictures. During sleepovers in middle school we would pretend to model, and I am so grateful that I have those pictures to remember great memories vividly. I always wanted to start using real cameras, but never really got around to it. I borrowed from the library and Gear to Go and started playing with different features to learn how they changed the way the picture looked. I was surprised by how changing one setting slightly could bring a completely new mood to the image. Right now I am mostly focusing on nature, but I want to take pictures of people very soon! Hand in hand with learning to take pictures, I am playing around with editing them afterwards. We now have access to Adobe Creative Cloud products through the U of A, so I am also exploring how to use Lightroom and Photoshop to enhance my images. Here’s a couple of pictures I took!

Mountains-edit

I really love the mountains!

Squirrel-edit

Caught this little one at Old Main!

Yellow-edit.jpg

Had fun experimenting with closeups.

Bee-edit.jpg

Barely took this in time; the bee flew away right after!

-Gabriela

Leave a Reply

