Happy Future for the Folks Scared of the Future

7 Apr

Who wants to be happy?

duh

Who is looking forward to the future?

nope

Well to be completely honest, I don’t know exactly know what it is to have a happy future, but I do know that the future terrifies me.

future

this is literally me running away from anything that has to do with the future

So, all my scared folks in the back, this is for you; some tips and tricks on how to have more positive-vibed weeks and days ahead.

1. Breathe

The first thing we need to remember is that we cannot control everything. Grades don’t always go according to plan, friends aren’t always forever by your side, and sometimes it rains on the days we need it not to. But don’t fret!

teachme.gif

We all need to learn that if it’s out of our hands, why have all the unnecessary stress of things we can’t control?

2. Where do you want to go?

noclue

Scariest question someone can ask you. Yes, I agree. However, just ask yourself, where do you want to go? This doesn’t have to be for like 10 years from now. Start small. Where do you want to be tomorrow? Next week? By the end of this semester? -this isn’t always academically either! This can be emotionally, or for your exercise routine, your cooking experience, the amount of water you drink daily, it doesn’t matter. Once you can answer where you want to be, you can start planning how to get there.

3. Fail a little

Now that you know where you want to be, it’s time to start experimenting. I said EXPERIMENTING not perfecting. Let’s be real. Nothing is perfect. And no plan goes perfectly the first time. So, if you fail your new eating plan, or you order take out 4 days in a row instead of cooking, it’s OKAY.

failure

Even Thor fails a little.

4. Now succeed

dude

Now that you know what didn’t really work for you, start doing some research. See what methods have worked for other people, what they have used to motivate them. Find your motivation, find what makes going on your adventure worth it.

5. Smile!

I hate being told to do this, but what I mean is that if you aren’t finding yourself smiling about the thoughts of where you want to be, or at least something along the journey, you should reconsider your goals. I’m not saying you should be smiling 24/7 -because again, no one ever does- I’m just saying, your future goals and your future you should make you smile a little!

wink

That’s all I’ve compiled so far, and I know, it’s not much, but I can promise you, as a scared, sometimes pessimistic college kid, I’ve used these to plan my future adventures. I’ve realized that some of my plans have gone completely haywire, and some of them have bloomed into semi-decent flowers.

clapping

so, cheers to us for making it so far!

Adventure -and the future- is out there, folks. Just make sure you pack some positivity, patience, and snacks!

doughnut

Stay rad,

Lils xx

Leave a Reply

