#AdventurousApril: Table for 1

17 Apr

This April I decided to do something a little outside my comfort zone. Or A lot.

I decided to go to a restaurant and eat all by myself for the entire meal. Now, this may seem like no big deal to some people, but for a person that constantly thrives and survives off the energy and company of others, I was pretty nervous.

giphy

So I put on my favorite pair of jeans on and headed out to a casual, but still sit down themed restaurant. I picked a favorite Vietnamese restaurant close to the University, and decided to go for dinner.

At first walking in I scoped the place out, since it is usually bustling with groups and couples. But to my surprise, there were very few people in the restaurant, and even a person or two eating alone.

giphy (1)

“No biggie”, I thought as I walked up to the counter to order my food. I chose some very delicious egg rolls with rice and a milk tea boba with a little ice on the side.

As I sat down to take my seat, I chose a table meant for two, although only one would be occupying the space for the night. Before I went in I promised myself I would try to limit the amount of time I spent on my phone, since I felt that it was like cheating to use it as a distraction. As I waited for my food to arrive, this is when the nervousness set in.

giphy-downsized-large (1).gif

What the heck was I suppose to do? Look at the ceiling or the walls? I started to feel a bit impatient since the food was taking a tad longer than usual. I truly had no idea what I was supposed to do. I opted to just play with some chopsticks and tried to relax as I waited.

Around 8 minutes later the food finally arrived and I dug in. This part wasn’t too uncomfortable since I was so distracted by the food, but I did miss the lively conversation that usually accompanies dining out, and to be honest, I felt a bit lonely. I finished my food and sat there for a couple more minutes letting everything settle in. I tried not to think too much about what I looked like or what I was doing, but it’s weird to be alone sometimes, you feel like everyone in the room is watching you, when honestly probably no one is.

giphy (2).gif

In the end, I didn’t really like eating alone. I know that some people love the quietness and relaxation that comes with solo dining, but honestly, it wasn’t quite for me, and that’s ok!

Everyone told me that it would be no big deal, and it really wasn’t. But I also didn’t really like it enough to want to do it again by choice. Being with friends and families while eating is almost just as important as the food you share! Eating out might have not been this crazy adventure, but it was something I had never really done before either, and to that, I would say I conquered this theme for the month.

giphy (3).gif

~ Mandi

Leave a Reply

