#AdventurousApril: Exploring Tucson’s Culture

20 Apr

If you don’t already have a “Things to do in Tucson before I graduate”  bucket list, you should think about making one. For Adventurous April, I decided to cross one item off my list: explore food and art in downtown Tucson. My friend and I met up on University and took the streetcar down to Congress to find different murals from the Tucson Mural Program created by the City of Tucson. Many of them are tucked away, but if you search for murals in downtown Tucson in Google maps, their locations come up.

We spent the day wandering around to the various locations to appreciate the artwork. Pro tip: bring sunglasses if you are doing this when there is no cloud cover. I was blown away by how massive these pieces were! What I loved about the murals was how you could see that there is a story behind them for each artist. My favorite was painted by four different artists; their sections came together flawlessly while still showing off each artist’s individuality. Whenever we saw a restaurant nearby we’d never tried, we stopped in! I got to try Thai and Ethiopian food for the first time and I was surprised by how similar the flavors were to other foods I’d tried before.

If you have a spare weekend, I’d highly recommend grabbing a friend and heading downtown to soak in the culture!

-Gabriela

Leave a Reply

