#AdventurousApril: Pink Hair, Don’t Care

20 Apr
IMG_4831

Before

Ever since I was little, I’ve wanted to dye my hair. Unfortunately, I never did it because my mom would always give me reasons of why I shouldn’t. She never wanted me to damage my long brown hair. At the beginning of this year, I took a very large step and got a blonde balayage in August. I loved this look at first but after having it for awhile, I knew I needed a change.

Recently, I have been looking online and have fallen in love with hair that has dramatic rainbow colors in it. I think it is super bold to do and up until now, I was always weary of changing my hair dramatically. My favorite color is purple and after a long time thinking about this change, I finally decided to do it.

When I scheduled my appointment, I was nervous and I had to wait a few days until they could get me in. During these few days, I kept going back and forth between what I actually wanted to dye my hair. I was debating between cutting it and going to a lighter blonde, adding purple, or going to a darker brown. After changing my mind for the 10th time, I decided to just go for it and add purple to it. I figured that this is the time of my life that I could change my hair dramatically before I have to worry about looking professional all of the time.

The day of my appointment, I was excited but nervous as well. I was nervous that I would not like it and regret changing my hair completely. My stylist’s name is Stephanie and when I told her what I wanted to do with my hair, she was super excited. She has worked with vibrant colors before and she assured me that it would turn out great, especially with a balayage. Unfortunately, it did not turn out exactly what I envisioned because my stylist did not have the purple that they usually use. Instead, she mixed colors together to try to get the purple what I was looking for. My hair turned out to be a pink/raspberry color, but I was not upset about it.

I love the color that it turned out to be and Stephanie made sure that I could go back in and get the purple that I originally wanted in my hair. She said that she could redo the entire thing, but I am just going to add some purple in and leave some of the wonderful raspberry color. I am so excited that I followed through with my plans of getting it dyed dramatically because I think it fits my personality perfectly.

I would suggest if you want to try to change your hair by cutting it, dying it a random color then to do it! There shouldn’t be anything holding your back because college is about finding yourself. It’s about expression and this is the best time to take risks and chances!

Best,
Courtney

Leave a Reply

