#AdventurousApril: Sorry Dad, I Got a Tattoo

20 Apr

April is a good month for being adventurous. The weather is nice, flowers are blooming, and getting over that mid-semester lull is essential. I decided April 14th, 2017 was a good day to get my first tattoo.

I am a Chemical Engineering major here at the U of A. I enjoy math and science (a little too much) so it made perfect sense to get a tattoo related to those fields. I decided to get a vector. In math, a vector is defined as having a certain direction and magnitude.

vector.png

Since I’ve learned about vectors I’ve always found that somewhat poetic. I want to live my life with a certain passion and purpose, just like a vector. I wanted my vector to point forward to always look towards the future. I don’t want to dwell on the past I want to keep pushing forward to reach all my goals.  For all of these reasons, I decided to get a tattoo of a vector on my right ankle.
IMG_6324

Getting the tattoo was a weird experience. I felt nervous but at the same time, I was very calm. I knew that this was something I really wanted so it kept me calm, but I was still very scared of the pain. The person giving me the tattoo could tell I was a little tense so he gave me a test run. He put the needle on my skin and it really didn’t feel all that bad. Once I gave him the okay he started the tattoo and it wasn’t that bad for the most part. The only thing that really hurt was when the needle crossed my ankle bone. At that part, it felt like my ankle was on fire! It hurt really bad, but it was only for a minute then it went back just to my skin which was a lot easier to handle. IMG_6322.JPG

The entire process didn’t take more than a few minutes. It only took a few minutes for me to do something scary and exciting. The next part was definitely the hardest part of the entire process, telling my dad. My dad is not a fan of tattoos and I knew he wouldn’t be too happy that I, his only daughter, got one. When I showed him, he didn’t overreact like I thought he would. He just asked me questions to make sure this was something I wanted forever. I assured him it was and the whole tattooing experience came to a close.

My tattoo is almost completely healed and I have to say, I love it. I love that it’s not perfectly straight and that the arms on the head aren’t perfectly symmetrical. I wanted this tattoo to be as real and unpolished as the person who has it. We’re both just doing our best. It turned out exactly how I wanted it to. Any sort of discomfort or unpleasantness was completely worth it. I definitely have tattoo fever and am so excited for my next one!

IMG_6413.JPG

-Alyssa

 

Leave a Reply

