LET’S GET HEALTHY-ish

30 Apr

Everyone lately has been saying, “Hit the gym so that summer body is ready!” am I right, or am I right?

summa

But before I cram 4 days at the gym and expect rock solid abs, I realized something: I need to be healthy.

honeybooboo

See, I’ve been blessed with high metabolism for a good portion of my life, but being healthy hasn’t necessarily been my thing.

So, I decided upon myself, that LILI VU NEEDS TO BE HEALTHY.

rathereatadonut

The thing is, you’re on Pinterest or tumblr or Instagram and you see all these “How to Be Healthy” articles, but they’re SUPER UNREALISTIC – like cutting out all carbs from your diet – SO, I decided that being REALISTICALLY healthy would be my spring prep for summer.

-I AM ALSO IN NO WAY SAYING I’M A FULL PLEDGED HEALTH NUT-

  1. PORTION CONTROL!

pizza.gif

Anyone who knows me knows I can easily eat a large pizza with room for dessert. However, being healthy is all about portions. So, I mean, I guess two slices now, and two slices in a couple of hours is healthier than eating a whole pie in one sitting.

  1. VEGETABLES

nope

Veggies are important, and near any campus, are pretty expensive too. SO, what I have learned to do is to buy raw veggies, rather than those small little pre-packed things, and ration them throughout the week. Buying a whole head of lettuce is cheaper than a pre-packed salad. SO get creative!

  1. SWEAT IT OUT

Work out! I actually enjoy going to the gym, however, for those of y’all who don’t – and that’s me some days – try going to a class! If you’re having fun, you’re less likely to realize you’re actually working out! Zumba is my go-to fun class, because let’s be real, we ALL want to be Shakira.

shakira

  1. SNACK

Snacks are SOOOOO important!! Eat snacks throughout the day! Healthier options such as celery sticks, or granola, or almonds are great! Not ready to go full out health nut? Dried fruit, fresh fruit, or power bars are great! SNACKS ARE LIFE!

snacks

  1. INDULGE

IT IS GOOD TO INDULGE! AS LONG AS YOU EAT EVERYTHING IN MODERATION. You don’t have to cut out sugar completely, and you sure don’t have to give up PIZZA for the rest of your life to be healthy! Just make sure you’re eating in moderation!

eat

So, these are my top 5 REALISTIC tips on being a healthy college student!!! Good luck!

Stay rad,

Lils

healthy

 

Leave a Reply

