Summer Planning

5 May

Planning is an important part of life and a key step to success. Having a great summer also requires an amount of planning. Whether you are planning to stay on campus during the summer or go back home, there are always things to consider. Here is how I decided to plan out my summer!

giphy

Planning for my summer began back in April of last year when I decided to rent out my apartment for 12 months. I decided that this would be a good idea because I wanted to take summer courses. I figured that I could apply for Financial Aid to cover the expenses of the summer classes and that everything would work out as planned. Since I knew I’d be staying in Tucson for the summer, I also began looking for a job. The summer is long and I figured that I would have plenty of time on my hands.

The job search began in February of this year and it went pretty smoothly. I looked for job openings preferably on campus. For the past three years, I’ve been spending my summers lifeguarding for my hometown. I really enjoyed spending time with children and getting to teach them how to swim. I decided to look for job openings at the Recreation Center as a Lifeguard. When I looked on their website, they were coincidentally taking applications for that position. I decided to apply and see where it would take me. In a couple of weeks, I was called in for an interview and got the job!

giphy (1)

One thing that did not work out for me was that I did not receive Financial Aid like I had planned to cover the expenses of my summer courses. So, even though I will not be taking any summer classes, I will still be spending my time on campus and hopefully get to pick new hobbies on the way. Planning for the summer is important! If I wouldn’t have looked for jobs early in the year, then I would have been left without a job and without school over the summer. Always have a backup plan because you never know what will be changing!

-Yolanda

Leave a Reply

